Mank Wins Characteristic Award from American Society of Cinematographers


LOS ANGELES (April 18, 2021) The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) presented their annual awards in a virtual ceremony today. Erik Messerschmidt, ASC, won the main prize in the feature film for Mank. The 35th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards also honored Aurélien Marra for Two of Us in the Spotlight Award category and Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for the documentary The Truffle Hunters. TV category winners included Steven Meizler for The Queen’s Gambit; Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown; Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem; and Baz Idoine for The Mandalorian. TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted the awards ceremony, which was streamed live from the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Below is the full list of winners and nominees:

Feature Award – presented by Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, CBE and James Deakins
-Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for Mank – WINNER
-Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for the Chicago trial 7
– Joshua James Richards for Nomadland
-Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC for Cherry
-Dariusz Wolski, ASC for World News
(Category sponsored by Keslow Camera)

Spotlight Award Category – Presented by Matthew Libatique, ASC
-Katelin Arizmendi for Swallow
-Aurélien Marra for two of us – WINNER
-Andrey Naidenov for dear comrades!
(Category sponsored by Panavision)

Documentary Category – presented by Ellen Kuras, ASC
– Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for The Truffle Hunters – WINNER
-Victor Kossakovsky and Egil Håskjold Larsen for Gunda
-Gianfranco Rosi for Notturno
(Category sponsored by Canon USA)

Film / Limited Series / Pilot Made for Television – Presented by Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC
-Martin Ahlgren, ASC for the conspiracy against America,? Part 6?
-Anette Haellmigk for the big ones,? The big ones?
-Pete Konczal for Fargo, the birthplace of civilization?
-Steven Meizler for The Queen? S Gambit,? End Game? – WINNER
-Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Guardian,? This extraordinary being?
(Category sponsored by RED Digital Cinema)

Episode of a series for non-commercial television presented by Paul Cameron, ASC
-Ken glassing for Lucifer? It never ends well for the chicken?
-Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for The Crown,? Fairytale?
-David Greene, ASC, CSC for Impulse,? The Moroi?
-M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy or Cabbage”
-Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown,? Imbroglio? – WINNER
(Category sponsored by Panavision)

Episode of a series for commercial television presented by James Whitaker, ASC
-Marshall Adams, ASC for a better call to Saul,? Bagman?
-Carlos Catalán for Killing Eve? Meetings have cookies?
-François Dagenais, CSC for the Blue Book project,? Area 51?
-Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem, “Up is Down”? – WINNER
-C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for the Blue Book project, “Operation Mainbrace”
(Category sponsored by FotoKem)

Half-hour episode for television presented by Kira Kelly, ASC
-Ava Berkofsky for unsure? Lowkey Lost?
-Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Mandalorian, Chapter 1: The Mandalorian?
-Baz Idoine for the Mandalorian, Chapter 13: The Jedi? – WINNER
-Matthew Jensen, ASC for The Mandalorian, Chapter 15: The Believer
-Jas Shelton for Homecoming, “Giant”
(Category sponsored by ARRI Inc.)

Joffin and Wagner are the only two previous ASC winners. Joffin won the ASC Award for Beyond (2019) and received nominations for Alice (2011) and The Andromeda Strain (2009). Wagner received ASC’s highest TV award for Game of Thrones (2017) and received two other nominations for his work on the show (2015, 2016).

Writer, producer and director Sofia Coppola has also received the ASC Board of Governors Award from Ed Lachman, ASC, and Philippe Le Sourd, ASC, AFC. The award recognizes Coppola’s significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It’s the only ASC award that is not awarded to a cameraman and is reserved for filmmakers who were masters of the visual art form. This year the award was sponsored by Picture Shop.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Roger Deakins, CBE, ASC, BSC for 1917, who won the Oscar® for Best Achievement in Cinematography.

For more information on the ASC Awards, please visit the ASC website at

Via the American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the art of filmmaking. Since its inception in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For more information on the ASC, visit or contact American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer).

Link to the photos of the ASC Awards here.
(Note: Will be updated with photos from the night of the event as they become available.)

Media contacts:
ignite strategic communication
Lisa Muldowney [email protected]
Sally Christgau [email protected]