Olly Stone: England bowler out for season with stress fracture of the again


Stone won 3-97 in the second Test against New Zealand

English fast bowler Olly Stone was disfellowshipped for the remainder of the summer and is an Ashes doubt after sustaining a fatigue fracture in his back.

Stone, 27, played in England’s second Test defeat against New Zealand last week – his third Test.

The Warwickshire bowler’s career has been hampered by injuries, including two previous back stress fractures in 2019.

He is judged at the end of the season but is in a race against time to be fit for the ashes in Australia.

Stone was out for a year after suffering a second back stress fracture within seven months in August 2019, though this was partly due to County Cricket’s delayed return during the Covid-19 pandemic.

He has been named, along with Mark Wood and Jofra Archer, a key member of England’s Assault in the Ashes, which begins in December, for his ability to bow at high speed.

Archer is currently out after that as well Elbow surgery. He could return later this summer.

The unannounced Sussex sailor George Garton has been named to the English squad for the three-day, one-day international series against Sri Lanka, which begins June 29.

The 24-year-old left-shot was drafted into the 2017-18 English Ashes squad as cover but has never been in a squad or played an international match before.

Seamers Saqib Mahmood and Reece Topley are also injured.

All-rounder Ben Stokes, who broke his finger in the Indian Premier League in April, will return to Durham in Sunday’s T20 Blast but was not included in the Sri Lankan squad.

He could return to England in the three-game Twenty20 series against Pakistan, which kicks off July 16.

Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes and Sam Curran are returning after their rest period after the IPL.

England’s squad against Sri Lanka: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), George Garton (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)