Tour de France: Tadej Pogacar holds on to yellow after stage 18 win


Tadej Pogacar now holds the white, yellow and dotted jerseys after his win at Luz Ardiden

The Slovenian Tadej Pogacar won successive stages in the Tour de France to underline his dominance in the leader’s yellow jersey.

Pogacar accelerated clearly in the summit finish of the 18th stage in Luz Ardiden and extended his lead in the overall standings to five minutes and 45 seconds.

Jonas Vingegaard and Richard Carapaz finished second and third.

Pogacar is expected to win the time trial on Saturday’s penultimate stage to secure his Tour defense.

With the victory of the 22-year-old, he also rises to the top of the premier class and is expected to own three of the four racing jerseys – the yellow, the dotted and the white jersey – for the second time in a row.

The Briton Mark Cavendish, who wears the green jersey as the championship leader, rolled over the finish line more than 32 minutes after Pogacar, but well within the end of the day.

Dominant pogacar

Ineos Grenadiers had tried to use the last climb to prepare Carapaz for a late attack.

But it was Pogacar who, with the support of RafaƂ Majka, a colleague from UAE Team Emirates, took the first important step and then drove flawlessly after following Movistar’s Spanish GC hopefuls Enric Mas.

“It’s incredible,” said Pogacar. “After yesterday I felt really good and I’m very happy with the win. It’s crazy. It’s three days so you never know, but it looks good.

“It was super tough. Already on [Col du] Tourmalet the pace was such that you just sit in the wheel and forget everything and then you were the maximum on the last climb.

When asked if he should be concerned about the upcoming time trial, Pogacar added, “Why should I worry? You can lose six minutes in a time trial. It has happened before, but I’m pretty confident.”

Results of stage 18

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo / UAE Team Emirates) 3 hours 33 minutes 45 seconds
  2. Jonas Vingegaard (Den / Jumbo) + 02secs
  3. Richard Carapaz (Ecu / Ineos Grenadiers) At the same time
  4. Enric Mas (Spa / Movistar) + 13 sec.
  5. Dan Martin (Irish / Israel Start-Up Nation) +24 sec.
  6. Sepp Kuss (USA / Jumbo Visma) +30 sec.
  7. Sergio Higuita (Col / EF Education –Nippo) + 33secs
  8. Ben O’Connor (Aus / AG2R Citroen) + 34 sec.
  9. Wilco Kelderman (Ned / Bora-Hansgrohe) At the same time
  10. Alejandro Valverde (Spa / Movistar) + 40 sec.

General classification according to stage 18 stage

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo / UAE Team Emirates) 75 hours 00 minutes 02 seconds
  2. Jonas Vingegaard (Den / Jumbo) + 5 min. 45 sec.
  3. Richard Carapaz (Ecu / Ineos Grenadiers) +5 min. 51 sec.
  4. Ben O’Connor (Aus / AG2R Citroen) +8 min. 18 sec.
  5. Wilco Kelderman (Ned / Bora-Hansgrohe) +8 min. 50 sec.
  6. Enric Mas (Spa / Movistar) + 10 min. 11 sec.
  7. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz / Astana) +11 min. 22 sec.
  8. Guillaume Martin (Fra / Cofidis) + 12 min. 46 sec.
  9. Pello Bilbao (Spa / Bahrain-Victorious) +13 min. 48 sec.
  10. Rigoberto Uran (Col / EF Education Nippo) +16 min. 25 sec.