Weyburn Comp Entrepreneurship college students put together to launch JA firm


A group of 17 students in teacher Margot Arnold’s Entrepreneurship 30 class is brainstorming and analyzing their ideas for the company they are about to start with.

Once the idea is finalized, the business plan is drawn up, followed by the official board meeting to present the business plan.

The first board meeting will be chaired by Presidents Risa Burdan and Jamie Borshowa through TEAMS. Verna O’Neill, GM of Community Futures Sunrise, Larry Heggs, manager of the Weyburn Chamber of Commerce, and Jeff Chessall, owners of New Age and Rona participate virtually.

The mentors evaluate their idea and business plan based on their feedback, expertise and suggestions.

Students start selling once their order form is created and seek support and business from Weyburn and the surrounding community.

In addition to Burdan and Borshowa, members of the Junior Achievement Company are the following and their areas of responsibility:

Finance, Vice President Rohan Hauptstein, together with Risa Burdan; Environment, Health and Safety, VP Codi Gibson and Stephanie Tegart; Marketing, VP Emma Zieglgansberger and Katelynn Shipley; Human Resources, VP Diamond Krushelniski, and Attendance Morale Officer, Avery Moule; Information Technology, VP Janayah Tichkowsky and Mei Segade; Sales, Co-VPs Reagan Schlosser and Jessica Benning, along with Mason Thackeray; and production, VP Mei Segade, with Ayva Mason, Cyrus Alcalde and Jenaya Sabourin.